From tea to coffee, from fruit to chocolate… As a society, the presence of sugar in our daily diet is much more than we think. So, in this case, are we constantly consuming gluten? Come learn!
The amount of gluten in sugar, which has an important place in today’s nutritional habits, gluten sensitivity or can be worrying for individuals with celiac disease. Especially packaged to gluten-free foods The amount of added sugar may raise a question mark for those on a gluten-free diet. At this point, it is necessary to make it a habit to read the small print on the back of the packages and have clear information about the contents of the food. Don’t worry, we are here to clear your questions. Let’s see together whether the foods you can consume when you want to have a sweet escape are safe!
How Many Candies Are Divided Into?
- white sugar
- half white sugar
- raw sugar
- Brown sugar
Sugar, which we can define as an energizing carbohydrate, is found in different forms in nature and in foods. Published by the Sugar Department of the Republic of Turkey Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry Sugar Definitions judicial to the guide Sugar types are classified according to their structure, source and processing methods. These classifications include white sugar (standard, refined, cube and crystal sugar), semi-white sugar, raw sugar and brown sugar. While semi-white sugar is less processed, raw sugar is found in its natural form. These classifications for sugar types help consumers make more informed choices.
What is Simple Sugar?
simple sugaris a type of carbohydrate found in nature and containing a single or several molecules in its structure. These sugars, which are naturally found in fruits, vegetables and some plants, are divided into two main groups: monosaccharides and disaccharides.
Monosaccharides, the simplest form of sugar, have a single sugar molecule in their structure. The most common monosaccharides are classified as glucose, fructose and galactose as follows:
- Glucose: Glucose, the body’s main source of energy, is also defined as blood sugar.
- Fructose: Fructose, which is naturally found in fruits and vegetables, combines with glucose to form a sugar called sucrose, also known as table sugar.
- Galactose: Milk sugar Galactose, called galactose, is structurally similar to glucose, and when the two come together, it becomes lactose. This type of monosaccharide has a less sweet taste compared to glucose.
- Sucrose: Sucrose, the most common disaccharide, consists of a combination of glucose and fructose. Sucrose is also known as beet sugar or cane sugar.
- Lactose: Lactose consists of a combination of glucose and galactose. It is usually found in milk and dairy products.
- Maltose: Maltose, which consists of the combination of two glucose molecules, is also described as barley sugar. It is generally used in the production of fermented foods.
What is Refined Sugar?
refined sugaris a type of sweetener that is obtained from natural sugar sources and sold in purified form. This process begins with the purification of raw sugar obtained from the sap of plants such as sugar beet or sugar cane. This process, called refining, ensures the removal of excess components in the sugar. Thus, the final product gains a whiter and homogeneous structure. Refined sugars are converted into powder, cubes or different forms and put on the market.
Do Simple Sugars Contain Gluten?
Published by the Turkish Ministry of Health Diagnosis, Treatment and Monitoring Guide for Family Physicians in Celiac Disease judicial to the manual according to, celiac Patients should not consume fruits, vegetables and other foods containing simple sugars. There is no problem. This means that simple sugar does not contain gluten. Therefore gluten free diet Fruits and vegetables containing simple sugar can be consumed easily.
Does Granulated Sugar Contain Gluten?
The question of whether there is gluten in granulated sugar, which is frequently added to dessert recipes, tea and coffee, is a matter of curiosity for anyone following a gluten-free diet. So let me answer this question right away. Published by the World Gastroenterology Organization celiac disease judicial to the guide according to, Granulated sugar does not contain gluten. Granulated sugar, which consists of pure sucrose, cannot be used by individuals with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity unless it is used in various gluten-containing foods such as cakes and pastries. It is deemed appropriate to consume.
|The gluten-free status of refined sugars may vary from brand to brand. For this reason, it is beneficial not to consume packaged refined sugars without reading their contents.
Does Cube Sugar Contain Gluten?
Cube sugar is a type of sweetener obtained by compressing granulated sugar crystals. In this way, we answer the question of whether there is gluten in granulated sugar. In other words, it has the same formula as granulated sugar. Cube sugar also does not contain gluten. However, just in case, just like granulated sugar, its content should be checked before consumption.
Is There Gluten in Brown Sugar?
Brown sugar is a type of sweetener known for its unique light brown hue and slightly caramel-like taste. This type of sweetener is obtained from white sugar and molasses components. Brown sugar gets its color and intense aroma from molasses liquid. Molasses does not contain gluten because it is a component obtained from natural products, like white sugar. Therefore Brown sugar does not contain gluten.
Is There Gluten in Eid Candy?
Although holiday candy types generally do not contain gluten, the same is not true for every brand. For this reason, you should look for the phrases “gluten-free” or “gluten-free” on the packaging of packaged and processed holiday candies. Some gluten-free products have the phrase “processed and packaged in a gluten-free environment”. You can consume these products with peace of mind, stating that there is no risk of cross contamination.
|Although sugar types are risk-free in terms of gluten, there is a limit to sugar consumption. Sugars Intake for Adults and Children published by the World Health Organization to the guide According to the report, daily sugar intake should not exceed 50 grams.
Do Candies Contain Gluten?
The content of confectionery varies depending on the brand, production process and ingredients. Most candies are gluten-free because they are made from sugar, water and flavors. For example; jelly beans, fruit candies and gums do not contain gluten. But these candies cross contamination It must be produced in a clean environment that will not cause any contamination. And also chocolate The same question marks may arise in sugar-coated or biscuit-containing candies. Gluten can be found in the materials used in the coating or filling of these products.
|Now that you know that sugar is not risky in terms of gluten, it’s time to try sugary and gluten-free alternatives. If you are on a gluten-free diet and looking for delicious dessert recipes gluten free dessert You can browse our category. Come on, try these practical dessert recipes now!
*The explanations on this page do not constitute health advice or warning and are for informational purposes only. You should definitely consult an expert to get detailed information about sugar consumption on a gluten-free diet.
- ““Diagnosis, Treatment and Monitoring Guide for Family Physicians in Celiac Disease”, Turkish Ministry of Health2019. (online)
- ““Sugar Definitions”, TR Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Sugar Department2021. (online)
- ““Nutrition in Celiac Disease”, Başkent University Faculty of Health Sciences Department of Nutrition and Dietetics2017. (online)
- ““Sugars Intake for Adults and Children”, World Health Organization2015. (online)
- “Celiac Disease”, World Gastroenterology Organization2016. (online)