Eggs, one of the most important foods on the breakfast table, are consumed with pleasure by almost everyone with their rich nutritional values and taste. So, can eggs be a suitable food for people with gluten sensitivity?
As production activities become more and more unnatural, the effects of consumed products may differ from those expected. For example; With the increase in the amount of gluten in foods in recent years, this protein, which is already difficult to digest, can cause greater problems in the intestines. For this reason, diseases such as celiac disease and gluten sensitivity, which occur when gluten is not absorbed in the intestine, are seen in more and more people.
People with gluten sensitivity should adopt a diet completely free of gluten. Accordingly, various studies reveal which foods people can and cannot consume. Egg, one of the foods included in the diet of everyone from seven to 70, is one of the foods whose relationship with gluten is most wondered about. So, do you think eggs contain gluten? The answers are waiting for you further down this page!
Do Eggs Contain Gluten?
Egg is one of the most sought-after foods for breakfast with its different recipes. In addition to frequently consumed varieties such as boiled and omelets, this food also allows you to prepare satisfying breakfasts with different vegetables such as potatoes and spinach. It is also first on the ingredients list of many sweet and savory recipes.
So, is there gluten in eggs? Let’s answer right away: No, eggs in their natural state do not contain gluten. However, eggs pose a high risk of cross-contamination during the preparation of meals. This food may later become gluten-containing due to reasons such as cooking eggs with ingredients that come into contact with gluten-containing foods and adding a gluten-containing food to a meal containing eggs.
Can People with Gluten Sensitivity Eat Eggs?
People with gluten sensitivity can eat eggs because they do not contain gluten. Especially egg recipes prepared at home can be consumed without any problems, as more attention is paid to gluten contact. However, eggs, especially in restaurants, can be prepared with materials that have come into contact with gluten-containing products such as wheat, barley and rye. Because materials that come into contact with gluten-containing foods can be reused in restaurants and cafes. For this reason, unless you go to a restaurant that serves completely gluten-free food, it may be inevitable for the eggs to cross-contaminate and become gluten-containing.
In order for people with gluten sensitivity to consume eggs without any problems, it is necessary to ensure that the food is prepared in a completely gluten-free environment and that the ingredients used are completely gluten-free products. Otherwise, the fact that eggs do not contain gluten is not enough on its own.
What are the Nutritional Values of Eggs?
Eggs stand out because they contain all the nutrients the human body needs in the ideal amount. This food, which is especially rich in essential amino acids, is seen as one of the important protein sources such as meat and milk.
Gluten-Free Breakfast Recipes with Eggs
Boiled eggs and plain omelets are generally the most frequently consumed gluten-free breakfast alternatives. Apart from this, there are also different gluten-free breakfast recipes that will make consuming eggs very enjoyable. If the risk of cross-contamination is eliminated, delicious gluten-free recipes can be created with eggs. Let’s take a look at a few of them!
Gluten-Free Omelet Recipe with Summer Vegetables
The ingredients you need for this recipe, where eggs and summer vegetables come together to create a feast of taste; 2 eggs, zucchini, onion, cherry tomatoes, corn, cheese, coriander, avocado, a little riviera olive oil, water and black pepper. So, how to make a gluten-free summer vegetable omelette?
- Pour a small amount of Riviera olive oil into the pan and let it warm over low heat.
- When the pan is heated, add the desired amount of chopped zucchini and onions.
- When the zucchini and onions are cooked, add the corn grains, tomatoes and coriander mixed in a small bowl to the pan.
- Beat eggs, water and black pepper in a bowl. Then pour this mixture into the pan with vegetables.
- When the eggs are cooked, sprinkle corn and cheese on half of the omelet. Fold the remaining part over the corn and cheese part.
- After cooking a little more, put your omelette into the pan. Place the sliced avocados on top. Your gluten-free breakfast is ready!
Banana Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe
Crepes made with gluten-containing flour types cannot be consumed by people with gluten sensitivity. However, it is possible to make this delicious breakfast, which is indispensable, with gluten-free flour and enjoy it! The ingredients needed for this recipe are 2 eggs, ⅔ cup gluten-free flour, 1 large banana, 1 teaspoon coconut milk, 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract, 2 teaspoons unsalted butter and maple syrup or honey… Okay, gluten-free pancakes that will sweeten your breakfast tables. how to do it?
- Place the banana in a large bowl and mash it with a fork. Then add the egg, vanilla extract, milk and flour. Mix the entire mixture thoroughly.
- Melt a piece of butter in the pancake pan and add it to the mixture you prepared. Mix it all until it becomes homogeneous.
- Put the crepe pan on the stove and heat it. Melt a piece of butter in the pan. Pour the mixture you prepared into the pan using a spoon or ladle and spread it thinly.
- Cook for 3-4 minutes, then turn and cook for a short time longer.
- Place the crepes you prepared on a plate. Add maple syrup or honey to sweeten. Your banana gluten-free pancakes are done!
Gluten-Free Pastry Recipe
Pişi is undoubtedly among the most popular flavors of Turkish cuisine. However, unfortunately, this flavor is not suitable for people with gluten sensitivity in its normal recipe. Fortunately, with a gluten-free recipe, bagel can be included in the diet of people who should not consume this protein with peace of mind. The ingredients for the gluten-free bake are as follows: 1 egg, 4.5 cups of gluten-free flour, 1 pack of baking powder, 200 ml mineral water, 2-3 cups of oil… Now, let’s take a look at how to make an easy gluten-free bake:
- Mix eggs, yoghurt, mineral water and salt thoroughly in a large bowl. Then add the gluten-free flour to the mixture little by little. Finally add the baking powder.
- When the mixture thickens, start kneading. After kneading thoroughly, leave it to ferment for 45 minutes.
- Tear off small pieces from the fermented dough and fry them in hot oil. Enjoy your meal!
*The explanations on this page do not constitute health advice or warning and are for informational purposes only. You should definitely consult your dietician about the foods you want to add to your daily diet.
MD, Prof. Sea South Duman Approved by