If you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, it is extremely important to investigate whether the foods you consume contain gluten. So, do you think that einkorn, which has been frequently encountered in recipes in recent years, also contains gluten? Come on, let’s see it together!
People with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease should adopt a gluten-free diet in order to minimize the physiological and psychological effects of gluten consumption. Research conducted for this purpose provides guiding information to people about which foods contain gluten. Although this process can sometimes be extremely troublesome, it is of great importance in ensuring a proper diet.
One of the foods that are wondered whether it contains gluten is “einkorn wheat”, which is among the heirloom seed crops of our country. So, how about finding out whether einkorn flour and einkorn bulgur made from einkorn wheat are an ideal alternative for people who should not consume gluten? So come on, it’s time to discover whether einkorn contains gluten!
1. Is There Gluten in Einkorn Flour?
Einkorn flour, which has become increasingly popular in recent years, can be used alone or as an auxiliary ingredient in many sweet and savory recipes. This flour, which has a thicker structure than other types of flour, has a dark color because it carries the color of einkorn wheat.
With the increase in the consumption of einkorn flour, especially people with gluten sensitivity are asking, “Does einkorn flour contain gluten?” He pursues the question. Although it is hoped otherwise, einkorn flour unfortunately contains gluten. As a matter of fact, in addition to einkorn wheat, wheat germ and wheat bran are also used in the production of this type of flour. And all this causes einkorn flour to rank first among foods containing gluten.
2. Is There Gluten in Einkorn Bulgur?
Einkorn bulgur is obtained by boiling and drying einkorn wheat and grinding it in stone mills. Unlike normal bulgur, this type of bulgur, which is obtained without breaking it, stands out with its special production conditions and rich nutritional values. However, when examined under the heading of gluten, it is not a suitable food for celiac patients and people with gluten sensitivity. In fact, just like einkorn flour, wheat germ and wheat bran are used in the making of einkorn bulgur. This is among the factors that further increase the gluten content of the food.
3. Is There Gluten in Einkorn Wheat?
We have already mentioned that einkorn flour and einkorn bulgur contain gluten. So, does the einkorn wheat from which these products are produced contain gluten? Yes! In fact, the gluten content of einkorn wheat can even reach up to 46.30 percent. However, for a food to contain “low gluten”, its gluten amount must be below 20 percent.
Although the lowest amount of gluten detected in einkorn wheat may be 19.30, this wheat variety cannot be among the “foods containing low gluten” because the rate in question does not remain constant. Therefore, einkorn wheat is another food that people with gluten sensitivity should not consume.
Einkorn wheat contains more minerals such as magnesium, calcium, zinc, manganese, sulfur, iron, copper and selenium compared to bread wheat. In this respect, it is not a result of a disease or diagnosis; It stands out as a food that can be included from time to time in the diet of people who do not want to consume gluten as a personal preference.
When trying to create a diet suitable for gluten sensitivity, many foods need to be subjected to in-depth research. Einkorn wheat, on the other hand, can create confusion about its consumption due to the misconception that it contains very little gluten. While einkorn flour, which has been determined to contain high amounts of gluten as a result of research, is not suitable for the gluten diet; Flour types such as chickpea flour and quinoa flour are among the foods that can be easily consumed by people with gluten sensitivity.
*The explanations on this page do not constitute health advice or warning and are for informational purposes only. You should definitely consult your dietician about the foods you want to add to your daily diet.
MD, Prof. Sea South Duman Approved by
Sources: Jane Anderson, “Is Einkorn Wheat Gluten-Free?”, Verywell Fit, 2020. (online). TR Kastamonu Governorship Provincial Directorate of Food, Agriculture and Livestock, “Einkorn Wheat and Products”, 2016. (online). Biel, W., Jaroszewska, A., Stankowski, S. et al. Comparison of yield, chemical composition and farinograph properties of common and ancient wheat grains. Eur Food Res Technol 247, 1525–1538 (2021). (online).