As a fiber- and protein-rich food, oats are one of the common saviors of consumer groups with different priorities. So, is this food that offers versatile benefits also suitable for individuals who need to follow a gluten-free diet? If you are wondering the answer to this question, “Does oats contain gluten?” You are in the right place now for all the detailed answers to the question!
You must be well aware that food and health authorities frequently emphasize the importance of fiber nutrition, both in the main media and in academic sources. Oats are by far one of the most popular foods in this regard! This food, known to be digestive-friendly with the soluble and insoluble fibers it contains, also stands out by being rich in protein, vitamins and minerals.
Oats have an important place in targeted nutrition with their low calorie value and ability to keep you full for a long time.
Those who have tried oats, one of the most extraordinary members of the wheat family, evaluate it in two polar opposites. While some consumers find this food, which has a very mild taste, not at all suitable to their taste; Some see it as indispensable in many recipes due to these features. Another frequently discussed issue when it comes to oats is whether this food contains gluten in its natural structure. Then; Come on, let’s clear this up together now!
1. Is There Gluten in Oats?
“What does oats contain?” There are many useful components that can be considered as an answer to the question. But gluten is not one of these ingredients, especially for the oats that are being released in the field. Oat products may contain gluten, however, due to growing and production conditions.
For example; Most of the oat-containing products sold in Turkey are obtained entirely from domestically produced crops to maintain the accessible price advantage. For this reason, the products may contain trace amounts of gluten. Apart from this, unprocessed oats are actually a 100 percent gluten-free grain type.
Well, when we just said “many useful ingredients to count”, did you become curious about what these are?
As we mentioned at the beginning; Fiber and protein types dominate the nutritional values table of oats. However, it is important not to mention that oats still contain high amounts of carbohydrates! This food, which consists of approximately 53 percent of carbohydrates, contains an average of 14 percent protein and approximately 13 percent fiber. All of these are also accompanied by natural fatty acids, natural sugar compounds, vitamin B1 and the minerals potassium, phosphorus, magnesium, iron and zinc.
2. Why Do Locally Produced Oats Contain Gluten?
Although oats are essentially a gluten-free food, gluten-free certified oat production is not yet produced industrially in Turkey. Gluten-free oats consist of imported products that specifically meet these conditions. Oats produced in Anatolia are grown in areas close to agricultural areas where gluten-containing grains such as wheat and barley are planted.
In addition, all these products are processed in the same facilities and on production lines close to each other after harvest. This can naturally lead to oats being exposed to cross-contamination (indirect contact) with gluten products. Even if the gluten content in oats is very low, the product loses its gluten-free feature.
3. Is There Gluten in Organic Oats?
In order for a product to have an organic agriculture certificate, it must meet some important conditions. The most prominent of these are as follows:
- Produced with non-GMO and heirloom seeds,
- Pesticides, hormones, etc. grown naturally or without the use of chemical supplements,
- Planting should be done in agricultural areas away from fire zones, industrial areas and highway sides,
- Prohibited inputs have not been used in agriculture for at least two years,
- No additions such as additives, flavorings, colourants, brighteners, thickeners, moisture balancers or preservatives are added to the product during processing,
- Packaging in safe, hygienic packaging that does not interact with food, etc.
Based on all these, it is possible to say that different conditions are required for a product to receive an organic production certificate and a gluten-free production certificate. Accordingly, while an oat product may be organic, it may also contain gluten.
4. Is There Gluten in Oatmeal?
As it is known, oatmeal is the most natural and least processed form of this grain that can be consumed. But “Does oatmeal contain gluten?” The answer to the question still varies depending on growing and production conditions. Because grains that have undergone any change, even if they have only gone through physical processes, may contain a small amount of gluten. It should be noted that the product is included in this class only if it has the phrase “gluten-free oatmeal” on its packaging.
5. Frequently Asked Questions About Oats and Gluten
5.1. What is Oats?
Oats are a type of fiber-rich grain that contains plenty of starch. It has an important place in human nutrition with the vegetable proteins it contains and high vitamin-mineral value.
5.2. What is Gluten?
Gluten is a type of vegetable protein found in grain varieties such as wheat, barley and rye. This substance, which acquires an elastic form when it meets water, provides elasticity and binding properties to dough made with gluten flour.
5.3. What are the effects of gluten on the body?
Gluten, as a frequently consumed ingredient in basic foods, can generally be digested by humans without any problems. However, people with gluten sensitivity, especially celiac patients, may experience bloating etc. when they consume this food. may experience some severe digestive difficulties.
5.4. Is Gluten Harmful?
Gluten does not have any known or proven harm for people with normal digestive system structure and functioning. However, this type of protein can seriously negatively affect the quality of life in celiac patients, people with gluten sensitivity, some irritable bowel patients, and people with some autoimmune diseases.
5.5. Can Celiac Patients Consume Oats?
Products made from oats can be safely consumed by celiac patients as long as they have a gluten-free production certificate.
5.6. Is There Gluten in Oat Bran?
Oat bran, produced in the same environments as gluten-containing products, may contain gluten as a result of cross-contamination.
5.7. Does Oat Flour Contain Gluten?
If the growing and processing processes of the grain used to make oat flour (whole or bran-free oats) took place under conditions where there is a risk of cross-contamination, the product is likely to contain gluten.
*The information on this page does not constitute a medical diagnosis or recommendation. If you think you are sensitive to gluten, you should consult your doctor about the types of foods you can consume.
Have you not discovered the delicious gluten-free product options of the Eti Pronot family* yet? Now is the time to experience the joy and comfort of gluten-free nutrition with 100 percent confidence!
*Eti Pronot products do not contain oat products to completely prevent the risk of cross-contamination with gluten-containing foods.
MD, Prof. Sea South Duman Approved by
World Health Organization, “Healthy diet”, 2018, (online)
University of California San Francisco, “Increasing Fiber Intake”, (online)
Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health, “Oats”, (online)
TR Ministry of Health, “Celiac and Gluten”, (online)
TR Ministry of Health, “What is the treatment of celiac disease?”, (online)
Official Gazette, “Regulation on the Principles and Implementation of Organic Agriculture, Part One, General Provisions”, 2010