The negative effects of gluten on some bodies may force people to stay away from foods containing gluten. So, does sesame, which plays the leading role in the most popular sweet-salty recipes, contain gluten? You can keep reading to find out!
The final touch of meticulously prepared recipes, the main ingredient of tahini, a close friend of molasses, and the indispensable part of simit, whose fame spread from Turkish cuisine to the world… Yes, we are talking about sesame! Sesame, one of the main ingredients of almost every Turkish cuisine, is an impressive element in terms of visuality as well as the delicious touch it adds to recipes. So much so that sesame and black cumin form the inseparable duo of many recipes. Well, did you think that was all? Of course no!
Sesame is one of the most frequently recommended foods with its benefits. Thus, sesame is frequently consumed and finds a place in recipes not only because of the flavor it adds to recipes, but also because of its rich content. Diseases that require special nutrition, such as celiac disease and gluten intolerance, make it necessary to question the gluten content of every food. So, do you think sesame contains gluten, which individuals with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity should avoid? Let’s get to the answers without making you any more curious!
Is There Gluten in Sesame?
Sesame is a type of flowering plant belonging to the pedaliaceae family. However, the name sesame, as used today, is used for the tiny seeds found in the flowers of this plant. The vitamins, minerals and oils contained in sesame seeds make this valuable nutrient one of the foods that has maintained its importance from prehistoric times to today. So, do you think celiac patients who should not consume gluten can eat sesame?
Sesame, one of the main or auxiliary ingredients of many recipes, does not contain gluten in its natural structure. Thus, this food can be easily consumed by celiac patients and people with gluten sensitivity. However, there is a risk of contamination (cross-contamination) of sesame seeds during the production phase. As a result of such a situation, unfortunately, sesame seeds may contain gluten. For this reason, it is necessary to choose sesame from brands that have the “gluten-free” label.
Sesame, a gluten-free food, is known as the ninth most common food that causes food allergies worldwide. For this reason, it is necessary to evaluate sesame in terms of allergic reactions as well as gluten axis.
Does Sesame Oil Contain Gluten?
Sesame is among the most valuable oil seeds in the world. So much so that the oil content of sesame is approximately 50 percent higher than other known oil seeds. For this reason, sesame is called the “queen of oilseeds”. To reach the oil in sesame seeds, the seeds are first dried and then crushed using various methods to extract the oil.
Since sesame oil is obtained from sesame seeds, which are naturally gluten-free, it does not contain gluten – as long as it does not contain any additives.
However, sesame oil, like the food itself, can be subject to cross-contamination during the production phase. Sesame oil, which has been cross-contaminated with gluten-containing products, also turns into a gluten-containing structure. For this reason, sesame oil preferred by people with gluten intolerance and celiac disease must have a “gluten-free” label.
Does Sesame Bagel Contain Gluten?
Simit is one of the foods where sesame usage is most prominent. Sesame is one of the most important ingredients that add meaning and flavor to simit. Yeast, flour, water and salt are used in the making of simit. Simit dough is shaped into a ring and dipped first in molasses and then in sesame seeds. The bagel that comes out of the oven is everyone’s favorite, from seven to 70, with its crispy taste and fragrant smell.
So, is there gluten in sesame bagels? It’s sad for those who hope otherwise, but yes!
The flour and yeast used in making bagels contain gluten. In addition, even if the bagel is made from gluten-free flour and yeast, there is a high risk of cross-contamination during the production process. For this reason, although sesame, the essential ingredient of bagel, does not contain gluten, sesame bagel may contain gluten. However, people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity can prepare gluten-free bagel recipes at home with gluten-free flour and gluten-free yeast varieties. However, if there are materials in the home kitchen that come into contact with gluten products, it is of great importance to eliminate them.
You can also safely consume fresh or frozen bagels that are sold with the “gluten-free” label.
Does Sesame Biscuit Contain Gluten?
Sesame is one of the most popular complements to sweet and salty biscuits. So, does sesame biscuit contain gluten? That is, sesame biscuits made at home can be prepared gluten-free by selecting all ingredients from gluten-free alternatives and eliminating the risk of cross-contamination. However, ready-made sesame biscuits may contain gluten because other ingredients and preservatives used in production contain gluten. At this point, the fact that sesame seeds are gluten-free does not alone provide a sufficient reason for people who should stay away from gluten.
In addition, sesame biscuits, where all ingredients used in production are selected from gluten-free alternatives, can be safely consumed by celiac patients and people with gluten intolerance. Of course, at this point, it is necessary to pay attention to whether the products are produced on special lines for gluten-free products and offered for sale with the “gluten-free” label. In summary; Sesame biscuits can be both gluten-containing and gluten-free, depending on the production process.
What are the Nutritional Values of Sesame?
The benefits of sesame extend from centuries ago to today. The most important reason for this is the vitamins and minerals found in sesame. Sesame, which is also rich in proteins and antioxidants, is also known for helping to keep cholesterol and blood sugar in ideal balance. The nutritional elements contained in sesame can be listed as follows:
*The explanations on this page do not constitute health advice or warning and are for informational purposes only. You should definitely consult your dietician about the foods you want to add to your daily diet.