Can corn flour, which is the flavor secret of various sauces, soups, cakes and pastries, also be a suitable food source for a gluten-free diet? Let’s find out the answer to this question and much more together!
The best way to tell if a food contains gluten is to thoroughly examine the ingredient list. It is also very important that foods have appropriate certification so that they can be labeled as gluten-free. For this, the products must be documented by passing some tests. In order to say that a product is gluten-free, it must contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten! This amount is recorded as the limit below the risk of triggering symptoms in people with gluten intolerance.
If you are careful to follow a gluten-free diet due to celiac disease, gluten sensitivity or other reasons, it is of course natural that the question “Does it contain gluten?” arises in your mind about any food! It is not difficult to guess that one of the products you are asking this question about is corn flour. To answer this, it is first necessary to find out whether corn itself contains gluten. Because corn flour, in its simplest form, is obtained by grinding corn into powder.
1. Is There Gluten in Corn?
Corn is a grain product that has been grown around the world for more than centuries. This mouth-watering plant with its popular taste and vibrant yellow grains is also an ideal food source with its rich content of vitamins A, B, C and E! The good news is that it is possible to include corn in gluten-free diets. Because corn does not contain gluten in its natural state!
Remember; The fact that corn is naturally gluten-free does not mean that products containing corn and its derivatives will also be gluten-free. Because these foods may become gluten-containing when they come into indirect contact with some gluten-containing foods. For this reason, before consuming labeled products or foods containing corn, it is necessary to carefully check what they contain.
2. Is There Gluten in Corn Flour?
Corn flour is produced by drying corn grains and grinding them into a fine powder. Therefore, this product does not contain gluten in its pure form. Like other flours, it can be used in bread, pastries, etc. Corn flour is also a good alternative to gluten flour as it can be used in pastries and desserts.
Corn flour adds the familiar, slightly sweet taste of corn to the foods it is used in. In addition, bakery products made with this flour can have a more intense taste compared to those made with wheat flour. However, since bread and its derivatives made with corn flour do not contain gluten, they are in a more easily dispersed form.
3. Is There Gluten in Cornbread?
Cornbread is generally made by blending corn flour with wheat flour. Therefore, it is not possible to say that every cornbread is gluten-free. Therefore, looking for products specifically labeled “gluten-free” or preparing cornbread at home with corn flour and other gluten-free flours is the safest way to consume it.
4. Is There Gluten in Corn Starch?
Corn starch is produced by extracting it from the starchy center of corn called endosperm. This food, which is in the form of a fine white powder, does not contain gluten under normal conditions. But in any case, it is necessary to pay close attention to the ingredient list of packaged corn starch products. If there are no gluten additives in this list, it is possible to choose corn starch as an ideal thickener for gluten-free recipes.
4.1. What are the Differences Between Corn Starch and Corn Flour?
Even though they are both obtained from corn, there are some differences between corn flour and corn starch in terms of taste, structure, areas of use, nutritional values and production stages. It is possible to list these differences as follows:
- While corn starch is obtained only from the starchy part of corn, corn flour is obtained by grinding whole corn grains into a fine powder. For this reason, corn flour is richer in protein, fiber, vitamins and minerals, while corn starch consists mainly of carbohydrates.
- While it is possible to use corn flour in making pastries like other flours, corn starch is generally used in sauces, soups, etc. It is used as a thickener in food preparation.
- While corn flour is yellow in color and has an earthy, slightly sugary taste similar to corn; Corn starch is white in color and tasteless.
4.2. Nutritional Elements of Corn Starch and Corn Flour
5. Is There Gluten in Corn Flakes?
Since not all corn flakes go through the same production stages, it is possible that some contain gluten. As a matter of fact, many of the cereals of different brands contain more than one ingredient. For example, some producers may use malt flavor during the processing of corn. Malt, on the other hand, turns corn flakes into gluten because it is obtained from barley, which is one of the grains belonging to the gluten-containing food group. All of this means it’s important to research cereals to add to a gluten-free diet pretty thoroughly.
6. Is There Gluten in Boiled Corn?
Boiled corn, in its natural form, can find a place in gluten-free diets. Of course, it is extremely important to read the contents of boiled corn and canned corn carefully. Because some manufacturers may offer corn grains blended with gluten-containing substances to the consumer. In addition, if corn is purchased raw, it is necessary to ensure that it has not come into contact with other gluten-containing foods.
*The explanations on this page do not constitute health advice or warning and are for informational purposes only. You should first consult your dietitian about the foods you want to add to your daily diet.
MD, Prof. Sea South Duman Approved by
Lauren Panoff. ”Is Cornstarch Gluten-Free?”. Healthline. 2020. (online).
Lizzie Streit. ”What’s the Difference Between Corn Flour and Cornstarch?”. Healthline. 2019. (online).
Jane Anderson. ”Which Brands of Corn Flakes Are Gluten-Free?”. Verywell Fit. 2020. (online).
”Can I eat cornbread on a gluten-free diet?”. Gluten-Free Living. 2019. (online).