If you need to follow a gluten-free diet, you need to research in detail what you can and cannot eat. But on the other hand, a balanced diet is also extremely important. Therefore, it is very important to include the nutrients found in grains in your diet. So, do you think that the bulgur you come across in your search for gluten-free grains contains gluten?
Celiac patients and people with sensitivity to gluten should definitely adopt a gluten-free diet. While doing this, it is of great importance that they do not forget to take the basic nutrients needed daily. Therefore, it is necessary to know what options are available to gluten-containing foods that are rich in nutrients and do not contain gluten.
Bulgur, one of the whole grain foods, is obtained from Durum wheat grains. It is thought that this food, whose roots can be traced back to Ancient Greece, has been consumed for approximately 4 thousand years in human history. Since bulgur contains high amounts of fibre, its consumption supports digestion and can help with weight control. In addition, with its rich content of protein and minerals, it is an ideal food source for daily diet programs. The real question is, does bulgur, which contains so many valuable nutrients, contain gluten?
Since it is obtained from wheat grain containing gluten, bulgur is in the group of grains containing gluten. So, unfortunately, bulgur cannot be one of the “those” foods in the search for gluten-free grains. But this doesn’t have to be sad news for those on a gluten-free diet! Because there are many foods that can be alternatives to bulgur. But before we talk about these, let’s discover together whether some types of bulgur contain gluten!
1. Is There Gluten in Brown Bulgur?
Brown bulgur gets its name from its darker color compared to other bulgur varieties. However, there is no big difference between brown bulgur and classic yellow bulgur, other than the type of wheat that gives it its color. Since it is softer compared to yellow bulgur, brown bulgur is also faster to cook. Brown bulgur, produced from wheat, cannot be a sought-after part of gluten-free diets because it contains gluten.
2. Is There Gluten in Fine Bulgur?
Fine bulgur takes its name from the size of its grains. Since this bulgur has very fine and small grains, it is both easier and faster to cook compared to coarse-grained bulgur. In addition, fine bulgur is also the main ingredient of recipes such as making barberry and raw meatballs, which are popular flavors specific to Turkish cuisine. Of course, having small grains does not change anything in terms of content. As a matter of fact, fine bulgur also fails to be included in a gluten-free diet.
Another type of bulgur, whole wheat bulgur, is obtained from Durum wheat, just like yellow bulgur. Since the outer shell of the wheat is peeled less during production, whole wheat bulgur contains more minerals and fiber compared to other bulgur varieties. But unfortunately, whole wheat bulgur does not offer a suitable ingredient to be included in the diet of people with gluten sensitivity or sensitivity to gluten.
3. What can be used instead of bulgur without gluten?
Good news! Although it may seem like a loss that bulgur, which contains many valuable nutrients, cannot be included in gluten-free diets, there are some foods that are just as good as the absence of bulgur. For example;
A false grain originating from South America. quinoaIt is obtained from a spinach-like plant that bears the same name. This plant does not contain gluten in its natural state. This plant, whose seeds can be eaten like grain, contains very nutritious ingredients. Moreover, it can replace bulgur in foods whose main ingredient is bulgur, such as stuffed meatballs. It may only be necessary to boil quinoa a little longer than bulgur.
|Nutrients Contained in a Glass of Cooked Quinoa* *185 grams
Another example of a naturally gluten-free food is rice. Rice, one of the most versatile grains, offers an ideal option that can be used instead of bulgur in gluten-free diet programs. Although rice has different tastes depending on its type, its texture and cooking time are similar to bulgur.
|Nutrients Contained in Rice* *Edible per 100 grams
Buckwheat is known as a grain-like plant that does not contain gluten in its natural state. The preparation of buckwheat, which is rich in magnesium and carbohydrates, is similar to that of bulgur. It is also possible to use buckwheat both as an ingredient in hot dishes such as soups and stews, and as a breakfast cereal!
|Nutrients Contained in Buckwheat* *per 100 grams
Millet, another example of naturally gluten-free grains, is also in the wheat family. Millet, which has a hard texture, stands out as an ideal food with its dense content of vitamins and minerals, like bulgur.
|Nutrients Contained in Millet* *Edible per 100 grams
*The information on this page does not constitute medical advice and is for informational purposes only. You should consult your doctor about the foods you can include in your diet.
MD, Prof. Sea South Duman Approved by
‘Is Bulgur Gluten-Free?”. Beyond Celiac. 2022. (online).
“Is Rice Gluten-Free?”, Beyond Celiac.
Jennifer Schlette. ”12 Bulgur Wheat Substitutes in Recipe (Gluten & Gluten-Free)”. Kitchen Substitute. 2022. (online).
Jillian Kubala. ”8 Evidence-Based Health Benefits of Quinoa”. Healthline. 2022. (online).
Atli Arnarson. ”Buckwheat 101: Nutrition Facts and Health Benefits”. Healthline 2019. (online).
”Rice, Osmancık”. Turcomp. 2022. (online).
”Big millet, sorghum”. Turcomp. 2022. (online).