If your diet should be gluten-free, one of your most used question phrases is “Is there gluten in X?” It is very normal! Well, are you also wondering what the answers are for milk and milk types, which are one of these X’s?
From homes to cafes, from dining halls to canteens… Milk is one of the favorite drinks of everyone in the world, no matter how young or old! Whether this calcium-rich food contains gluten is the most important issue for some when it comes to milk. Families often wonder whether the consumption of milk and dairy products is in the safe zone for the intake of various nutritional values, especially for children who need to be fed gluten-free.
Milk, which has a high amount of calcium, also contains valuable nutrients for the body such as phosphorus, protein, zinc and B group vitamins (B1, B2, B6, B12). Milk fat contains vitamins A, D, E and K.
Some symptoms of celiac disease and lactose intolerance can be confused with each other. Although this raises the opposite misconception, “Is there gluten in milk?” It is possible to give a simple answer to the question in one word. However, those who need to stay away from gluten should be careful not to overlook the details. So let’s take a closer look at the relationship between milk and gluten!
Does Milk Contain Gluten?
Good news for those on a gluten-free diet! The natural and unprocessed milk does not contain gluten. This means that milk can be included in gluten-free diet programs. However, milk may lose its gluten-free feature due to sweeteners and similar ingredients added later or due to cross contamination. To prevent this, it is important to pay particular attention to reading label information and to choose packaged products that have the phrase “gluten-free” or “gluten-free”.
What is the Ideal Daily Consumption Amount of Milk?
In the Türkiye Nutrition Guide published by the Ministry of Health in 2015, on record It is explained that the ideal daily consumption of milk and dairy products for children, teenagers, pregnant women, breastfeeding mothers and post-menopausal women is 2 to 4 portions. This ratio is determined as an average of 3 portions for adults. Accordingly, a glass of 240 milliliters of milk is considered one serving.
Türkiye Nutrition Health Survey to your data According to research, 74 percent of children and adolescents under the age of 18 in Turkey and 75 percent of adults over the age of 18 consume milk and dairy products below the recommended daily amount. Accordingly, while the recommended annual consumption of dairy group foods is 34 liters, the average annual milk consumption of the majority is 6.2 liters.
Nutritional Values Table of Milk
Which Milk Does Not Have Gluten?
The natural form of milk obtained from animals such as cows, goats, sheep and buffalos does not contain gluten. However, when grains that are a source of gluten and the additives obtained from them are added to milk, the situation turns to the contrary. It is especially necessary to pay attention to wheat-based vegetable protein and malt flavors that can be added to milk. In addition, chocolate and flavored milk may also contain gluten. However, homemade chocolate milk made from unprocessed cocoa and milk does not contain gluten unless there is cross-contamination.
For people who need to follow a gluten-free diet, it is very important not to consume packaged products other than products labeled “gluten-free”! Gluten-free milk and dairy products do not contain additives derived from grains. Full-fat, semi-skimmed and skim milk do not contain gluten. There are also some plant-derived milk alternatives for people who do not want to add animal-derived milk to their gluten-free diet due to various concerns. So, could these also contain gluten?
Is There Gluten in Soy Milk?
Soy milk, obtained from soybeans, does not contain gluten when it is not exposed to any gluten-containing sweeteners or thickeners. Of course, it is important for individuals with celiac disease or gluten intolerance to choose soy milk among products that are approved to be gluten-free.
Is There Gluten in Almond Milk?
Almonds do not contain gluten. Almond milk, which is obtained from almonds and does not undergo cross-contamination, can therefore be a safe milk alternative for people on a gluten-free diet.
Is There Gluten in Rice Milk?
Rice does not contain gluten. For this reason, milk obtained from rice can be labeled as gluten-free if it has not been exposed to a wheat-containing thickener or any gluten additives.
Is There Gluten in Hazelnut Milk?
Hazelnut milk, another alternative to milk of animal origin, does not contain gluten in its natural, uncontaminated form.
Is There Gluten in Coconut Milk?
Coconut milk, one of the most popular plant-derived milks lately, is an ideal alternative to animal milk as it does not contain gluten in its natural state.
Is There Gluten in Oat Milk?
Gluten, which is found in grains such as wheat, rye and barley, is not actually found in the natural and uncontaminated form of oats and oat products, which are another grain. However, since oats are generally grown in close proximity to wheat and are often processed in the same facilities, they may be subject to cross-contamination and become gluten-containing. For this reason, unless it is specifically stated that it does not contain gluten, it is not recommended to include oat milk in the diet of people who need to follow a gluten-free diet.
Does Lactose-Free Milk Contain Gluten?
Since milk does not contain gluten in its natural state, lactose-free milk does not contain gluten either. However, lactose-free milk may also contain additives containing gluten. For this reason, people who need to add both gluten-free and lactose-free milk to their diet should carefully read the labels of the products they buy and prefer lactose-free milk that is stated to be gluten-free on the packaging.
Can Celiac Patients Drink Milk?
There is no harm in celiac patients consuming milk of both animal and plant origin. However, it is important that the preferred milks are products labeled and approved as “gluten-free”. However, in some cases, celiac patients may need to restrict or avoid consuming milk and dairy products.
Secondary lactose intolerance may be seen especially in individuals newly diagnosed with celiac disease. This means that the daily diet should be lactose-free. In such a situation, patients have to restrict their cow’s milk intake for a certain period of time. However, with a strict diet for celiac treatment, consumption of dairy products can be resumed in the later months of the disease.
Lactose intolerance occurs when you cannot digest lactose, a type of sugar found in milk and dairy products. Lactose, which is broken down by the lactase enzyme found in the intestinal lining, may not be digested adequately due to the damage caused by gluten in the intestinal lining of newly diagnosed celiac patients. This causes discomfort such as gas, stomach pain, bloating and diarrhea, similar to the symptoms of celiac disease. Although tolerance to lactose varies from person to person, this condition, which is generally a symptom of celiac disease, resolves spontaneously after a gluten-free diet.
*The explanations on this page do not constitute health advice or warning and are for informational purposes only.
MD, Prof. Sea South Duman Approved by