You may be avoiding gluten out of necessity or personal preference. At this point, it should of course be important for you to find out which foods contain gluten and which do not. So, do you think there is gluten in tahini, which stands out with its rich nutritional values?
Gluten can be rejected by some bodies as a protein that is difficult to digest. Some problems arising from the inability of this protein to be absorbed in the intestines can cause many physical and psychological problems in people. If gluten cannot be absorbed in the intestines, discomfort such as gas pain and bloating, as well as psychological conditions such as anxiety and extreme fatigue may occur.
People who consult a doctor with these problems may be diagnosed with diseases such as celiac disease, gluten sensitivity or irritable bowel syndrome, which requires avoiding gluten. In order to create a lighter and more comfortable diet, gluten-free diets can be followed with the guidance of a physician. The first step towards a gluten-free diet is to research foods that do not contain this type of protein. In this article, we explain whether tahini, which is consumed both alone and with its close friend molasses, is suitable for a gluten-free diet!
What is Tahini?
tahiniIt is a type of food obtained by separating sesame seeds from their shells and crushing them. Tahini, also known as “tahan” in some regions; It is used especially in Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Asian and African dishes. This food, which resembles hazelnut paste in appearance, has a more fluid form in terms of consistency.
Tahini, which is extremely rich in vitamins, minerals and beneficial oils, is frequently included in target-oriented nutrition programs. In addition to being consumed alone, tahini can also be consumed as a strong mixture with molasses, which has a rich content. In addition, it plays an important role in the preparation of appetizers such as hummus and baba ghanoush.
One tablespoon of tahini contains 8 grams of fat. Of this, 3.5 grams consist of polyunsaturated fat, 3.04 grams of monounsaturated fat and 1.1 grams of saturated fat. One tablespoon of tahini also contains 3 grams of protein. Thus, it is possible to say that tahini, which is rich in fatty acids, is a good plant-based protein.
Does Tahini Contain Gluten?
As gluten sensitivity (and also awareness of gluten) has increased greatly in recent years, information about whether almost every food contains gluten can be easily accessed from different sources. However, in some cases, confusion can still arise regarding the relationship between foods and gluten. The most important reason for this is the natural structure of the food and the risk of cross-contamination and its new content.
For example; Tahini does not contain gluten in its natural state. Tahini made at home under suitable conditions or produced on special production lines and presented with the “gluten-free” label can be safely consumed by people with gluten sensitivity. However, tahini – like all gluten-free foods – has a risk of contamination (cross-contamination) depending on production and consumption conditions.
Tahini produced and packaged in the same facility as gluten-containing foods may become gluten-containing by cross-contamination. Sometimes, thickening additives can be added to the product to thicken the tahini. For this reason, people with gluten sensitivity must examine product labels before consuming tahini with peace of mind.
Editor’s Note: Tahini, which does not contain gluten and is also a vegan food, appeals to a wide range of consumers thanks to these features. However, sesame used in tahini production is known as the ninth most common food that causes food allergies in the world. Therefore, although it is suitable for a gluten-free diet, it is necessary to test whether this food will cause a different reaction in the body.
How to Make Tahini?
Sesame seeds collected for tahini production are first soaked in water for 10 to 12 hours. At the end of this period, the sesame shells sink to the bottom, while the sesame seeds rise to the surface of the water. The sesame seeds on the surface are removed and subjected to drying processes. Dried sesame seeds are ground until they become smooth. After the crushing process, which continues until a completely fluid consistency is achieved, tahini production is completed.
What are the Nutritional Values of Tahini?
Tahini is among the valuable foods described as “super food” thanks to its rich nutritional values. Tahini, which is especially effective on the digestive system with its high fiber content, is one of the best sources of vegetable protein with its protein content. All the nutritional elements contained in tahini are as follows:
*The explanations on this page do not constitute health advice or warning and are for informational purposes only. You should definitely consult your dietician about the foods you want to add to your daily diet.
MD, Prof. Sea South Duman Approved by