All genetically inherited or acquired disorders that cause gluten sensitivity can increase in severity with the consumption of certain foods and cause serious problems. This being the case, it is necessary to reshape your eating habits. So, is there room for chocolate in a gluten-free diet?
The unique aroma of cocoa, which is called “the food of the gods” in the literature, manages to turn every recipe it is used into into a palate-pleasing taste. Especially when it comes to chocolate that highlights this intense flavor, say “No!” It’s almost impossible to say. So, do you think it is possible to consume chocolate freely in cases of gluten sensitivity or celiac disease?
Cocoa, the main ingredient of chocolate, does not contain gluten in its pure form. However, at this point, it is necessary to pay attention to the region where cocoa is grown and the production lines preferred during the processing phase.
Assuming that cocoa is not exposed to any cross-contamination, this time it is chocolate’s turn. Although the cocoa used in chocolate production is suitable for a gluten-free diet, as it is known, different ingredients are also used in the production of this food. Therefore, to decide whether a chocolate contains gluten, all ingredients need to be reviewed. So let’s take a closer look at the different types of chocolate!
1. Is There Gluten in Dark Chocolate?
According to the Turkish Food Codex Chocolate Communiqué, chocolate varieties containing 35 percent or more dry cocoa substance and at least 18 percent cocoa butter are called dark chocolate. Dark chocolate, whose bitterness varies depending on the amount of milk and sugar it contains, does not contain gluten. But this does not mean that celiac patients can eat any dark chocolate without thinking!
Different additives can also be added to dark chocolate, which is basically made with milk, sugar, cocoa butter and a large amount of dried cocoa. This can turn dark chocolate, which does not contain gluten under normal conditions, into a gluten-containing product. In addition, many factories that produce chocolate also produce other products containing gluten. If these factories do not have a special area reserved for gluten-free products, the possibility of cross-contamination may be inevitable!
2. Is There Gluten in Milk Chocolate?
According to the Communiqué, milk chocolate includes chocolates containing at least 25 percent dry cocoa substance, 25 percent or more fat, 14 percent or more milk, and 3.5 percent or more milk fat. “Does chocolate contain gluten?” The answers given so far to the question remain valid for this type of chocolate as well. Namely, pure chocolate does not contain gluten. However, in case of cross-contamination, only chocolates with the words “Gluten-free / Gluten-free” on the packaging should be preferred.
Milk, one of the main ingredients of milk chocolate, can be considered gluten-free unless it is subject to cross-contamination. However, since people with gluten intolerance may also have lactose sensitivity, it should be ensured that they do not have such sensitivity before consuming foods containing milk!
3. Is There Gluten in White Chocolate?
Unlike the known chocolate recipe, white chocolate does not contain cocoa powder and gets its flavor from the cocoa butter it contains. According to the Communiqué, white chocolate must contain at least 20 percent cocoa butter. Milk at a rate of 14 percent or more and milk fat at a rate of 3.5 percent or more constitute the other components of white chocolate.
Like all other types of chocolate, white chocolate does not contain gluten unless it is contaminated with gluten products. However, just like milk chocolate, white chocolate contains condensed milk at a level that may be unsafe for those with lactose intolerance to consume. In addition, it should not be forgotten that different additives used in the production of white chocolate may contain gluten.
4. Which Chocolate Does Not Have Gluten?
Regardless of the type of chocolate in question, the question “Is there gluten in chocolate?” “No” to the question. It is possible to answer. In this regard, let us make a general statement to our entire file: None of the main components of chocolate contain gluten. However, if special precautions are not taken during the cultivation and production of these ingredients, indirect contact with gluten products may occur. In addition, emulsifiers and some flavoring additives may also contain gluten.
As can be understood from all this, celiac patients actually prefer bitter, milky, white, etc. You can consume all types of chocolate with peace of mind. What needs to be taken into consideration is that the preferred chocolate has a gluten-free product certificate! Also wafers, biscuits etc. Chocolates enriched with products should also be avoided. Because such foods are largely produced with gluten grains.
5. How to Identify Gluten-Free Chocolate?
Unfortunately, it is not possible to tell whether a chocolate contains gluten by appearance or taste! For this reason, when choosing products, you should choose certified foods without taking any risks. You can also check the presence of the following additives in the “Ingredients” section on the packaging of the foods you purchase:
- barley malt
- Brewer’s yeast
- Bulgur wheat
- Durum wheat
- graham flour
- malt extract
- malt aroma
- malt syrup
- Rye flour
- Wheat flour
If you have celiac disease, you should stay away from chocolates that contain any of these additives, which are known to contain gluten. In addition, all these factors affect the use of hot chocolates, types of chocolate drinks, chocolate sauces, etc. You should remember that it also applies to liquid chocolate products!
Delicious Eti products offer safe consumption for people with gluten sensitivity! Thanks to the Eti Pronot family, which consists entirely of gluten-free products, you can enrich your gluten-free diets with peace of mind!
*The information on this page does not constitute medical advice and is for informational purposes only. You should consult your doctor about the foods you can include in your diet.
MD, Prof. Sea South Duman Approved by
Link, R., “Is Chocolate Gluten-Free?”, Healthline, 2019.
Anderson, J., “Is Chocolate Gluten-Free?”, verywellfit, 2020.
Thompson, L., “Can You Eat Chocolate on a Gluten-Free Diet?”, Livestrong, 2018.
“Why isn’t All Chocolate Gluten-Free?”, CoeliacUK.
TC Hingley, M., “Types of Chocolate & Those Most Likely to Contain Gluten”, Gluten Free Club, 2021.
Cocoa and Chocolate Products Communiqué, Turkish Food Codex, 2017.